Instagram-black Instagram-blackInstagram-black

May Employee of the Month: Kat

May Employee of the Month: Kat
Topic: Community
Location: Anderson Mill

How long have you worked for DoubleDave’s?

Just over 4 years

What’s your favorite DoubleDave’s product?

Cinnamonstyxz hands down!

Ranch or red sauce?

Never really developed the taste for either of them as far as dipping sauces. However, my daughter swears that Ranch is the sauce that can make anything taste better, so let’s go with that.

Favorite Pizza of The Month so far?

It’s a toss-up between the Loaded Baked Potato and the Sausage Gumbo…. Okay maybe three I loved the Chicken Enchilada too. Do I have to choose a favorite?

Best experience with a customer?

One of the ultimate best experiences I have had with a customer is actually with a family. We have this amazing family that comes in often who has two young boys with autism. When I first met them the youngest one (named Tucker who is in the picture with me) was very shy in front of me, our store mascot scared him and would send him into a fit; none of it being his fault. But eventually I earned his trust and have actually gotten him to pose with me and our store mascot. I befriended him by giving him a little bit of our Crispy Thin Dough to play with while the family eats. He’s a really picky eater and I have figured out besides our Chocolate Chip Cookie Pizza, he will only eat a thin crust cheese pizza. So, every time I see him I make sure to have it dropped in the oven. I know the rest of the family’s favorites too and get them in as well. But nothing is better than seeing his eyes light up when he sees me, or if he hasn’t seen me and he asks for the dough lady. I don’t care that he doesn’t know my name, I will be the dough lady for him, every time.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

Retired living the life! My boyfriend will be retiring from the Houston Police department and we would love to retire to Tennessee or Georgia.  But let’s be honest, more than likely I will still be working here and enjoying it just as much as I do today.

What is your favorite part about working for DoubleDave’s?

Hands down it’s my customers and how we are able to do so much for them. I really enjoy seeing the impact we can make in our community.

If Hollywood made a movie about your life, who would you like to see cast as you?

Melissa McCarthy, she’s funny and I would enjoy watching that.

What advice would you give to new employees?

Have fun, enjoy your job, but keep working. Sometimes it can get a little hectic but never forget to have fun while you work.

What did you want to be when growing up?

I wanted to be a teacher and then when that didn’t work out I wanted to be a chef. Which for a little while I had my own place and so I guess that dream came true.

What do you like to do on your days off?

I enjoy spending time with my family and just relaxing. I try to make my days off count as much as possible when spending time with my little family. You never know how long you will be here, so we try to make every moment count.

What is the first thing you would buy if you won the lottery?

Season tickets to the Denver Broncos!

What’s the best vacation you’ve taken?

Last July we went to Tennessee for a big family vacation. Went to Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge, Chattanooga, Memphis, and Nashville. Had the best time. If you ever travel I recommend going to Chattanooga TN and checking out Ruby Falls and Rock City!!! Absolutely breathtaking.

What is your favorite thing to do in Huntsville?

Get out of Huntsville. Just kidding. Huntsville has a great State Park and a lot of history here that I like checking out. Like Sam Houston’s House and the Prison Museum.

What’s the first concert you went to?

First concert I ever went to was when I was 10 and it was the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles “Coming Out of Their Shells Tour” you can do the math yourself on my age, haha. But when I was older I went to a 3 Doors Down concert and loved it.

What music do you like to play on your shift?

We really don’t get to choose the type of music we listen to but sometimes I can throw on Flogging Molly and that really makes it nice.

Where are you from?

From all over. I moved a lot as a kid. But I was born in Denver Colorado.

Favorite Sport and what team?

I like sports but the one I really like is football. As for my team obviously, the Denver Broncos!!!

If you found a genie and they could grant you one wish what would you wish for? And no wishing for other wishes.

I would wish to know the answer to any question I asked myself 3 times while snapping my fingers. Think about it, I could get money (winning lotto numbers?) Cure any kind of disease (what’s the cure for cancer and autism?) I could find love (just ask myself who is the person I am meant to be with?) Really, I could have anything I wanted.

What is something different about you that no one else has?

I have a fish shaped birthmark on my left leg just above my knee. However, if you change the angle in which you look at it then it looks like a bunny rabbit. Kind of weird really.

Who’s your favorite hero?

That would be my amazing boyfriend. He’s a 17-year vet on the Houston Police force. And I thank God every day for him and all that him and his brother’s and sister’s in blue do!

More Articles

Fresh Vegetables